The Nuclear Suppliers Group Admits Mexico as an Observer State

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Press Release No 137
Mexico City, June 21 2012. 

Mexico was admitted today as an Observer State at the annual plenary meeting of the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG), one of the major export control regimes for goods and leading technology related to the global nuclear industry for peaceful purposes.

Mexico's presence in this control regime, in which 46 states participate from all over the globe, is consistent with its traditional support of global non-proliferation and disarmament efforts in the pursuit of international security and peace, and in line with the Tlatelolco Treaty, whose Article 17 underlines the development of the nuclear industry for peaceful purposes.

The Mexican delegation, attending the Nuclear Suppliers Group for the first time, was headed by Ambassador Mabel Gómez Oliver, and integrated by César Hernández Ochoa, General Director of Foreign Trade of the Secretariat of Economy; Juan Eibenschutz Hartman, General Director of the National Commission for Nuclear Safety and Safeguards; Luz Aurora Ortíz Salgado, General Director of Distribution and Supply of Electricity and Nuclear Resources of the Secretariat of Energy; and Minister Juan Sandoval Mendiolea, Coordinator of Advisors of the Undersecretary for Multilateral Affairs and Human Rights of the Secretariat of Foreign Affairs.

Mexico seeks to make a substantial contribution to the strengthening of international export control regimes, providing those mechanisms consist of tools to ensure compliance with States' obligations adopted in the Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT), the Statute of the International Atomic Energy Agency and other international non-proliferation and disarmament instruments, while allowing the controlled development of advanced technology in sectors which use nuclear elements, such as electricity generation and nuclear medicine, among others.

Addressing the countries participating in the NSG, Mexico reiterated its commitment to the non- proliferation of weapons of mass destruction. Mexico also stressed its desire to effectively control the goods and technology specified in the lists of the NSG, which favor Mexican industry's access to advanced technology so far unavailable in the country.

It should be recalled that in January Mexico was accepted as a full member of the Wassenaar Arrangement on dual-use goods and technologies.

The NSG is an informal group, with no legal binding, created in 1974, whose objective is to contribute to the non-proliferation of weapons and nuclear material through the implementation of guidelines to regulate the export of nuclear goods and related software and dual-use technologies and products.

The countries currently participating in the regime are: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan , Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Rumania, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom and United States.



Releases Archive

Powered by mod LCA