International Standardization

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

International trade activity has established the need to use as reference the standards agreed by world consensus within international bodies. A forum therefore emerges which creates a common language and a minimum requirement as far as world trade, in order to avoid technical barriers or unfair competition.

It is important to reflect the national interest in these activities including, as far as possible, the opinion of public, private, scientific and consumer sectors.

Codex Alimentarius

The Codex Alimentarius is currently made up of 184 countries and 1 member organization (European Community). Mexico has been a member since 1963. The Codex has 16 product and general affairs committees, 6 regional committees and 1 intergovernmental action group.

The Codex Alimentarius has become a global point of reference for consumers, food producers, national food control bodies and the international food trade.

The standards, codes of practice, guidelines and recommendations of the Codex Alimentarius are an international reference for the World Trade Organization (WTO).


Pan American Standards Commission

The Pan American Standards Commission (Copant) is a regional standardization body which pools the National Standards Bodies (NSBs) of the Americas.

On July 12, 1949, in the city of Sao Paulo, Brazil, in the headquarters of the Engineering Institute, the Pan American Standards Committee, CPANT, was founded. In New York, 1964, the General Assembly of the Pan American Committee changed its name to the Pan American Standards Commission under the short title, Copant.

There are now a total of 15 active members and 8 adherents. Mexico is an active and founding member of the Copant.

The Copant is the technical standardization and conformity assessment reference of American countries and their international counterparts, and promotes the development of its members.

The work of the Copant is divided into 9, to date, Technical Committees (TCs).

International Organization for Standardization

Founded in 1947, the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is a network of the national standardization bodies of 157 countries, with a Central Secretariat located in Geneva, Switzerland.

ISO standards have a broad scope and are enforced by its Technical Committees (TCs) and their Sub-Committees.

Participating sectors include:

1) Agriculture
2) Chemicals
3) Construction
4) Environment
5) Medicine and Health
6) Mechanical Engineering
7) Social Responsibility
8) Information Technologies

International Electrotechnical Commission

The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) was founded in 1906, following a resolution approved in 1904 at the International Electric Congress in St. Louis, Missouri.

The IEC is a non-profit, non-governmental organization comprising the National Committees of 81 countries which send their experts and delegates from industry, government, associations and academia to participate in the IEC's technical and conformity assessment work.

It is the leading organization for the development of international standards and conformity assessment systems for electrical and electronic products.